Midland Region

About Us

The Midland AYA Cancer Service provides services to the upper middle region of the North Island including Waikato, Bay of Plenty, Lakes and Tairawhiti districts.

The AYA cancer keyworker is based out of Waikato hospital and works with young people diagnosed and treated there. The AYA Cancer Keyworker liaises with health professionals with expertise in AYA cancer care located in Thames, Tauranga, Rotorua, Whakatane and Hauora Tairawhiti hospital. They support the care provided to any young people diagnosed and receiving treatment in these areas.

The AYA cancer keyworker is based out of Palmerston North Hospital and works with all young people diagnosed and treated there.

How to make a referral to the AYA Cancer Service

Referrals should be made to the AYA Cancer Service when there is a high suspicion of cancer. Early involvement of this specialist service helps young people and their whānau to navigate services and ensures that important AYA-specific issues are addressed early, including fertility preservation and clinical trial enrolment.

We welcome referrals from young people and their whānau, general practitioners (GP), NGO providers and cancer services staff such as nurses, social workers, specialists and psychologists. Make your referral by contacting either the keyworker or clinical lead.

Meet the AYA Keyworker and Clinical Lead

E_Proffit1

Ellyn Proffit

AYA Keyworker
021 223 6145
ellyn.proffit@waikatodhb.health.nz

Charles

Charles De Groot

AYA Clinical Lead
07 839 8899 - Waikato Hospital
charles.degroot@waikatodhb.health.nz

Midlands Regional AYA Champions

Radiation Therapy AYA Champions

Placeholder

Hemma Tangavellu

AYA Lead/ Champion Radiation Therapist
Hema.Tangavellu@waikatodhb.health.nz

Placeholder

Grace Burnett

AYA lead/champion Radiation Therapist Grace.Burnett@waikatodhb.health.nz

Placeholder

Kevin Quick

AYA Champion Radiation Therapist Kevin.Quick@waikatodhb.health.nz

Placeholder

Hayley Miller

AYA lead/champion Radiation Therapist Hayley.Miller@waikatodhb.health.nz

Placeholder

Rosie Lemay

AYA lead/ Champion Radiation Therapist KKC (private) rosie.lemay@kathleenkilgourcentre.co.nz

Midland Adult Day Stay AYA Champions

Aleisha Clarry

Aleisha Clarry

Registered Nurse at Waikato DHB Aleisha.Clarry@waikatodhb.health.nz

Megan Mansfield

Megan Mansfield

Registered Nurse - AYA Rep Megan.Mansfield@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Kelly Norris

Oncology / Haematology Clinical Nurse Specialist - AYA Rep Kelly.Norris@tdh.org.nz

Jessica Parkes

Jessica Parkes

Registered Nurse - AYA Rep Jessica.Parkes@bopdhb.govt.nz

Adult In-Patient AYA Champions

Liv zeeders

Liv Zeeders

Nurse Educator - Waikato - AYA Rep Olivia.Zeeders@waikatodhb.health.nz

2

Eilish Cooke

Registered Nurse - Waikato - AYA Rep Eilish.Cooke@waikatodhb.health.nz

Ari

Ari McAlley

Nurse Educator - Waikato - AYA Rep Ari.McAlley@waikatodhb.health.nz

Placeholder

Kaitlin Smith

Registered Nurse - Waikato - AYA Rep Kaitlin.Smith@waikatodhb.health.nz

Placeholder

Danielle Rewi-Wetini

Registered Nurse - Waikato - AYA Rep Danielle.rewi-wetini2@waikatodhb.health.nz

Midland Paediatric Shared Care Nurse AYA Champions

Sharon Powley

Sharon Powley

Clinical Nurse Manager, Paediatric, Whakatāne (Paed Shared Care) Sharon.Powley@bopdhb.govt.nz

Maree Cresswell

Maree Cresswell

BOP Paed Shared Care Nurse Maree.Cresswell@bopdhb.govt.nz

Danielle Polyblank-Finn

Waikato Paed Shared Care Nurse Danielle.Polyblank@waikatodhb.health.nz

Cathy Mott

Cath Mott

Oncology Link Nurse (Paed Shared Care) Cath.Mott@lakesdhb.govt.nz

Deb McKay

Deb Mckay

Clinical Nurse Manager, Paediatrics (Paed Shared Care) debram@tdh.org.nz

More about the Midland service

Flyers and Information

Service overview – this one page document gives an overview of the Midland Service

More information on the service – this brochure gives more in depth information about the Midland Service

Waiora Waikato Hospital Map – this map will help you find your way around

Waikato DHB parking – this link provides your visitors with information on where to park at Waikato Hospital