Canterbury Region

About Us

The Canterbury AYA Cancer Service provides services to the upper South Island including Canterbury, South Canterbury, West Coast and Nelson/Marlborough districts.

The AYA cancer keyworker is based out of Christchurch hospital and works with all young people diagnosed and treated there. The AYA cancer keyworker liaises with health professionals with expertise in AYA cancer care located in Nelson, Wairau, Timaru and Greymouth hospital. They support the care provided to any young people diagnosed and receiving treatment in these areas.

All AYA patients with cancer throughout the region are discussed at the South Island Supra Regional Multidisciplinay meeting to ensure that their unique needs are being addressed.

How to make a referral to the AYA Cancer Service

Referrals should be made to the AYA Cancer Service when there is a high suspicion of cancer. Early involvement of this specialist service helps young people and their whānau to navigate services and ensures that important AYA-specific issues are addressed early, including fertility preservation and clinical trial enrolment.

We welcome referrals from young people and their whānau, general practitioners (GP), NGO providers and cancer services staff such as nurses, social workers, specialists and psychologists. Make your referral by contacting either the keyworker or clinical lead.

Meet the AYA Keyworker and Clinical Lead

Lousie Sue

Louise Sue

AYA Keyworker
027 382 6584
louise.sue@cdhb.health.nz

Kate Gardner

Dr Kate Gardner

AYA Clinical Lead
Kate.Gardner@cdhb.health.nz

Canterbury Region

Tristian

Tristan Pettit

Paediatric AYA Oncologist

Sean

Sean Macpherson

Haematologist Sean.MacPherson@cdhb.health.nz

Headshot

Asleigh Guy

Haematology CNS
Ashleigh.Guy@cdhb.health.nz

3

Hazel Weeks

AYA Champion: Radiation Therapy
Hazel.Weeks2@cdhb.health.nz

3

Genevieve Buchanan

AYA Champion: B5

jo

Jo Truscott

Paediatric & AYA CNS
Nurse Maude Hospice Palliative Care Services
Jo.Truscott@nursemaude.org.nz

images

Rebecca Lee

Senior Clinical Psychologist Psychological and Social Support Services
Rebecca.Lee@cdhb.health.nz

South Canterbury Region

3

Nicola Riley

Adult Oncology CNS

AYA

Amber Discombe

Adult Oncology CNS

West Coast Region

3

Dorothy O'Connor

Paediatric AYA Champion

3

Mary Nolan

Adult Cancer CNS

Nelson Marlborough Region

M-J photo

Mary-Jane Reade

Adults AYA Cancer CNS
mary.jane.reade@nmhs.govt.nz

3

Jo Standring

Paediatric AYA CNS
jo.standring@cdhb.health.nz

3

Gerry Dowse

Senior Clinical Psychologist Psychological and Social Support Services
Gerry.Dowse@nmdhb.govt.nz

Find Help in your Region

Adolescent/Young Adult (AYA) Cancer services are specialised treatment and support services for young people with cancer aged 12-24 years.

Health and other professionals working within these services have considerable experience in treating and caring for young people.